skip to main content

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees, known as Directors, are appointed by the Members and are the accountable and decision making governance of the Trust and all its schools. Currently the membership is:

Mike Bailey CBE, Chair

Mike was a career Civil Servant working in Nottingham, the Middle East and London.  Since retiring he has undertaken a number of voluntary posts including: Chairman of a charitable housing association, independent member of the Alzheimer’s Society Nominations and Appointments Committee and Governor of a mixed secondary school for students with complex needs.  Currently he is a member of the West Hub Board.  He is involved in a number of local groups in the area where he lives, including being a member of his Parochial Church Council.  He was awarded the CBE in the June 2005 Birthday Honours List.

Bishop Richard Atkinson (Vice Chair)

Bishop Richard Atkinson is the Bishop of Bedford and Chair of the Diocesan Board of Education. He was previously Archdeacon of Leicester where he led the development phase and opening of the St Philip Inter-faith Centre in 2006.

Andrew Martin

Andrew began his teaching career on the South Coast in 2000 before taking up Leadership positions in schools serving vibrant communities in areas of socio-economic deprivation in East & North London.  He has a Master’s in Education specialising in Special Educational Needs and Inclusion and experience of leading pastoral teams and implementing systems that support the needs of vulnerable groups and securing good academic outcomes for students.  His experience includes leading in schools that were deemed Requires Improvement and moving them to Good and Outstanding Ofsted judgements.  Currently Andrew is Lead Adviser for Hertfordshire’s Virtual School, Secondary Phase.  Outside of the day job, Andrew was a magistrate in East London, sitting on the Stratford Bench and has experience as a Secondary school Governor, as Vice Chair and is currently Chair of Governors at St Nicholas School, Stevenage.  He is also studying for an Executive Master’s in Business Administration.

Carole Bennett

Carole is the Chief Executive Officer.  She has overall responsibility for the DSAT and is accountable to the Directors’ of the Trust.  Carole has more than 25 years’ experience in the education sector, leading and delivering educational development, teaching and learning and school business support services.  She has worked within local authorities and the third sector, supporting a wide range of maintained, academy and free schools.  Most recently, she was a Director of the largest schools’ company in the UK, providing education and business services to over 600 schools.

Canon David Morton

David is the Diocesan Director of Education for the Diocese of St Albans.  He was a primary school teacher and school leader serving as headteacher in three Church of England schools requiring rapid improvement.  Following a period where he was CEO of the Stapleford Centre, a Christian education charity, David became Deputy Director of Education in July 2013, assuming responsibility for school buildings, land and trusts and the development of the Diocese’s school improvement provision.

Lindsay Fraser

Lindsay began her teaching career as an RE teacher in secondary education before moving into primary education, whilst continuing to teach in adult education (GCSE history).  She went on to become an acting headteacher in a large independent primary school and then undertook sixteen years’ headship in a VA lower school, a large VC lower school and finally an interim headship to support a small VA lower school in difficult circumstances.  Since retiring from headship two years ago she has taught on a PGCE course, undertaken middle and senior leadership support and advice for primary schools, governance training, SIAMS advice and action planning and recruitment of senior leaders.  For the past 11 years she has been a SIAMS inspector and is also a governor of a church middle school.  Lindsay has been a Local Leader of Education since 2010.

Paul Dickens

Paul has been a governor at Parkfields Middle School since his eldest child was in Year 6, longer than either of them would care to recall. He has been Chair of Governors since 2005. The school was rated Ofsted “Outstanding” in 2008 and again in 2012. An HMI inspection in July 2016 confirmed the school’s “Outstanding” categorisation.

Paul is also chair of Harlington Area Schools Trust (HAST), a local pyramid of 9 lower schools, 2 middle schools and one upper school, which has been working collaboratively for many years. HAST is commissioned by the local authority to run the Hearing Impaired, Visually Impaired and Medical Needs services on its behalf.  Paul also works as a National Leader of Governance in the local area, carrying out formal Reviews of Governance in local schools and supporting Chairs of Governors when required.

Outside the field of education, he was formerly Organ Scholar at Selwyn College, Cambridge and is currently Director of Music at All Saints Church, Leighton Buzzard. He is Hon. Treasurer of the Congo Church Association, a UK charity which supports the Anglican Church in DR Congo. Prior to retirement, he worked as a barrister, specialising in intellectual property and general chancery work.

Robin Humber

Robin is an experienced senior manager having undertaken a number of roles in different multi-national companies, as well as running his own business. In addition, he was a school governor for St Leonard’s VA School, an Outstanding Church School, in Heath & Reach between 2004 and 2013 where he was Chair of their Finance Committee, bringing the school out of deficit into a good financial condition which enabled it to expand its facilities. He has been a Bedford Borough and Central Bedfordshire School Appeals Panel and Exclusion Review Panel member since 2008 and recently retired from being a magistrate in Bedfordshire having served on the Bench for 15 years.